Do you ever find yourself measuring your have nots against your haves? I  will go ahead and answer for you..”yes”. Don’t feel bad. I am just as bad. I wear a scarlett “G” on my shirt. It is in these times, we don’t realize what we truly have. For those who will be reading this blog will have a vehicle and a roof over our head. It is definitely frustrating at times when the mortgage or other bills seem to never end. Think about it for a moment though…What if you did not the financial means to put a roof over your head? You couldn’t afford to go to some of the nicest restaurants in town, you couldn’t even afford a slice of bread? Is it really that bad now?

It’s been a blessing not to have experienced the above, in September though, I will be traveling to one of the poorest countries in the world, Haiti. I will be going with a team from my old church in Savannah, Savannah Christian Church. The agenda for this trip is to work with the mothers and the children in northern Haiti. SCC partners with Northwest Haiti Christian Mission (www.nwhcm.com), another organization we will be closely working while we are there.

Why am I going to Haiti? I have had opportunities to go serve on other trips, but this one has stuck out to me like a sore thumb. I have had opportunities, to go other places, but have not for one reason or another. Haiti is nowhere near a one star vacation retreat, but the land and its people have captured my heart. The tumultuous history, the impoverished present, and the thought of what the country could be through life changing connections.

I go with an expectant heart and please join me on this blog site as our team gathers further details about the trip and as I shed more light on this country.  I look forward to sharing this journey with you.

The team is raising support ($1750 per team member) to offset costs and supplies for the trip. If you would like to be a part of this effort to help the Haitians, please make all checks to Savannah Christian Church (on the for line please put Team Haiti II for Kristin Painter) and mail to:

Savannah Christian Church
 Att: Missions Department
55 Al Henderson Blvd
Savannah, GA 31419
 
www.scc.com               
 
www.nwhcm.com
